Review: The Pledge


from goodreads:
In the violent country of Ludania, the classes are strictly divided by the language they speak. The smallest transgression, like looking a member of a higher class in the eye while they are speaking their native tongue, results in immediate execution. Seventeen-year-old Charlaina has always been able to understand the languages of all classes, and she's spent her life trying to hide her secret. The only place she can really be free is the drug-fueled underground clubs where people go to shake off the oppressive rules of the world they live in. It's there that she meets a beautiful and mysterious boy named Max who speaks a language she's never heard before . . . and her secret is almost exposed.Charlie is intensely attracted to Max, even though she can't be sure where his real loyalties lie. As the emergency drills give way to real crisis and the violence escalates, it becomes clear that Charlie is the key to something much bigger: her country's only chance for freedom from the terrible power of a deadly regime.



Once in a while, as I’m reading a book, I think to myself, “I wish I had written this.” The Pledge is one of those books.

The premise drew me in immediately—a queendom divided by language is on the brink of revolution and one girl, Charlie, is hiding a deadly secret. Charlie has the innate ability to decipher languages—a skill that is punishable by death, as it is in the best interest of the government to keep the classes divided. Charlie’s little sister Angelina, also has a unique skill and it is up to Charlie’s parents to keep the girls safe.  Despite living in a society where public hangings are the norm and children of different classes attend different schools, Charlie and her friends, Brook and Aron, have managed to grow up fairly well adjusted, doing all the things normal teens do. Until the night of the attacks—it’s the attacks that find Charlie at the heart of the uprising, and from that point on, her life will never be the same.

One of the things I found unique about this book was the idea that all the new nations are ruled by queens, not kings. In fact, male heirs are seen as undesirable and are overlooked. This was such a subtle change, but it was refreshing for once to see a society that was not patriarchal—even if it is far from ideal.  Throughout the novel, we are presented with strong female characters who still manage to be entirely feminine. This is a trait I love in books, as I think we need more strong role models for our teen girls.

The narration of the novel switches from Charlie’s first person point of view in the majority of the chapters mixed with third person narration to help give readers insight to other important characters. Sometimes this style of narration can be confusing and distracting, but here, it works. I liked being able to get into the queen’s head and to see what Max or Xander were up to.  The narration also helps to pace the novel, adding tension and filling in gaps.

Speaking of narration, I loved Kimberly Derting’s descriptions of her characters. Brook, the wild child of the group, is “allure and promise in one seductive bundle.” Aron, always reliable is, “bright and steady and clear, like finding a beacon in the darkness.”  Meanwhile, Charlie describes herself as pragmatic, “I didn’t spend my days dreaming of a different life, of way to escape the limitations of my class . . . I was what I was, and nothing could change that.” Derting’s descriptions help to bring her characters and their environments to life and made me feel like I was in the book with them.

While The Pledge is generally categorized as dystopian fiction, it also has many elements that push it across genres to fantasy. The Pledge will appeal to fans of The Near Witch, Divergent, and Wither alike. It’s a perfectly paced, beautifully written tale.


THE GIVEAWAY:





Just because I loved the book so much, I’ll be giving away a copy of The Pledge along with a great collection of signed swag to one lucky winner—just follow the directions in the rafflecopter form below to enter. 




19 comments:

  1. Okay, I admit I've thought about this book but haven't bought it or added it to my wishlist. But...You were so right about 'The Near Witch' I just would.'t want to miss out on a great read=)
    Thanks,
    Lethea B
    Luvdaylilies at bellsouth dot net

    ReplyDelete
  2. Loved the review! I need to read this now, definitely. I would have probably not even considered this book if not for this review. Thanks!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Am currently reading and loving it! But my copy is from the library - I would adore one of my own.

    Thank you for the contest!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I've been wanting to read this book ever since I heard about it! I loved the review thanks for the giveaway!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Can't wait to read this. Sounds amazing & I love that cover! Thanks for the chance to win!

    ReplyDelete
  6. This book sounds awesome! And the quotes you added make me want to read it even more. Thank you for the giveaway, and wish me luck.

    ReplyDelete
  7. It's on my list to read. Can't wait.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Awesome giveaway!! :D Thanks so much! :D

    ReplyDelete
  9. SOOOOOOOO excited to read this book!!!!! The cover art is just AMAZING. Thanks for sharing the goods :)

    ReplyDelete
  10. I have been wanting to read this!!

    thanks!

    celjla 212 at aol dot com

    ReplyDelete
  11. Thanks for this! This has been on my TBR shelf for a long time ^^ supersonic182@gmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  12. Thank you so much for the chance to win!
    charissajackson@yahoo.com

    ReplyDelete
  13. Very generous giveaway. The Pledge sounds great.

    ReplyDelete
  14. Great review!

    I love Kimberly Derting!

    Thanks for the giveaway:)

    ccfioriole at gmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  15. ^ ^ Thank you for the giveaway!

    ReplyDelete
  16. Great giveaway! This book is just awesome!!

    ReplyDelete
  17. Thanks for the giveaway. This book sounds great.

    ReplyDelete
  18. Hi danielle, this book is on my TBR list and I definitely would love to own a copy so thank you for the chance.

    ReplyDelete
  19. Thanks to everyone who commented and entered. I wish all of you could have won. Hopefully, you will get a chance to read this book, it was super enjoyable. This was my first of Kimberly Derting's books and I'm eager to read more!

    ReplyDelete

Something on your mind?

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
SITE DESIGN BY DESIGNER BLOGS